Pakistan unveil squad for Tests in Australia, eye fresh start after World Cup



Lahore: Under a brand new skipper in Shan Masood, Pakistan on Monday named a squad of fresh faces for a tricky tour of Australia beginning subsequent month, looking for a fresh start after a disastrous World Cup marketing campaign.

Following the World Cup the place Pakistan misplaced 5 of their 9 matches and completed fifth, the nation’s cricket board overhauled the nationwide group, with Babar Azam resigning as captain of all three codecs.

Team director Mickey Arthur and head coach Grant Bradburn have been faraway from their positions with former skipper Mohammad Hafeez taking on each their roles.

Masood was given the reins of the Test captaincy whereas Shaheen Shah Afridi was appointed Twenty20 captain.

Wahab Riaz, one other former quick bowler, was appointed chief selector following Inzamam-ul-Haq’s resignation and burdened performers in home competitors had been chosen for the three-match Test tour.

“Australia is always a tough tour but we think that these players have the capability and capacity to not only do well, but come out winners.”

Pakistan have carried out poorly in Australia, nonetheless, shedding 14 Tests on the trot with a final success in 1995.

The collection begins with the primary Test in Perth (14-18 December) adopted by the Boxing Day Test in Melbourne (26-30 December) and Sydney (3-7 January).

Uncapped quick bowler Khurram Shahzad is rewarded for being the best wicket-taker in the nation’s premier First-Class match this 12 months with 36 wickets.

Dashing left-hander Saim Ayub and all-rounder Aamer Jamal have represented Pakistan in Twenty20 internationals however are untested in the five-day format.

Shaheen is the one quick bowler to have performed in Australia, whereas Naseem Shah was not thought-about as he was nonetheless recovering from a shoulder damage that dominated him out of the World Cup.

Squad: Shan Masood (captain), Aamer Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Agha Salman, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi


Source hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here