Manipur polls: First phase held in 38 constituencies


Imphal: With 173 candidates, the first round of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly election is held in 38 constituencies. The polling began at 7 am, and it will continue till 4 pm. A total of 12,09,439 voters, including 5,80,607 male, 6,28,657 female and 175 transgender voters, are expected to exercise their adult franchise today in 1,721 polling stations spread across five districts- Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur, Churachandpur and Kangpokpi.

Until 11 am, Kangpokpi has recorded 32.16 per cent, the highest number of turn out, followed by 31.60 per cent in Imphal West, 29.66 in Bishnupur, 26.66 per cent in Imphal East 16.68 per cent in Churachandpur. Altogether 27.43 per cent of voter turnout was recorded till 11 am, according to Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged the people of Manipur to vote in large numbers. “Urging all those voting today in the first phase of the Manipur Assembly elections to turn out in record numbers and cast their vote. I particularly call upon the young and first-time voters to exercise their franchise,” Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted.

Home Minister Amit Shah has also urged the people of Manipur, especially the youth, to vote in large numbers. “I urge the people of Manipur, especially the youth to vote in large numbers. Your one vote will keep this beautiful state free from insurgency, blockade, and corruption. So come out and vote for a prosperous Manipur,” Home Minister tweeted.

The Chief Minister of Manipur, N Biren Singh, who is contesting from his traditional constituency Heingang, tweeted after casting his vote, “It gives me immense pleasure to cast my vote today. I urge all those voting today to turn out in record numbers and cast your valuable vote.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here