BJP fields Yogi Adityanath from Gorakhpur Urban, 107 candidates announced for UP


CM Yogi Adityanath will contest from the Gorakhpur seat, which is a known ‘saffron fortress’ in electoral politics.

New Delhi: Eyeing to return to power by riding on the strong pro-incumbency wave in favour of the right mix of Hindutva and development, BJP on Saturday (January 15) announced that Uttar Pradesh Chief Yogi Adityanath will contest from Gorakhpur Sadar/Urban seat. Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya will be the party nominee from the Sirathu assembly segment in the Prayagraj region.

The party has marked its “victory march with the blessings of voters of Uttar Pradesh”, B L Santhosh, party general secretary, said in a tweet. The announcement of the first list of 107 candidates for the crucial Uttar Pradesh polls was made at a press conference by party general Arun Singh and Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, who is the party’s election in-charge for the country’s most populous state. Both CM Yogi and deputy CM Maurya are members of the legislative council as of now.

Gorakhpur is a known bastion of UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and BJP has been retaining the parliamentary seat of Gorakhpur for decades now. Gorakhpur is a known ‘saffron fortress’ in electoral politics, and as the Mahant of ‘powerful’ Gorakhpeeth, Yogi Adityanath won the Parliament seat for six consecutive terms.

The issue of national security, the need for strong anti-terror measures, pro-Hindutva agenda and development are major issues for the people in Gorakhpur and other parts of the state.

Among others, the list of candidates includes Khurja (SC) – Meenakshi Singh, Khair (SC) Anoop Pradhan Balmiki Koil – Anil Parashar, Iglas (SC) – Rajkumar Sahyogi, Chhata – Chaudhary Laxmi Narayan Mathura – Shrikant Sharma, Baldev (SC) – Pooran Prakash Jatav Etmadpur – Dharampal Singh, Agra Cantt (SC) – Dr G.S. Dharmesh Agra South – Yogendra Upadhyaya, Agra North – Purushottam Khandelwal Agra Rural (SC) – Baby Rani Maurya and Fathepur Sikari – Chaudhary Babulal.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has exuded confidence time and again that BJP would retain power by winning “300 plus seats” in the 403-member assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here