Updated Team Standings, Rankings and more


The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup kicked off on Thursday (5 October) at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium with New Zealand defeating defending champions England by 9 wickets.

World Cup 2023: News | Schedule | Results | Points desk

The Black Caps, who’ve completed runners-up in every of the final two editions and are eyeing their maiden title this 12 months, thus turned the primary group to open their accounts on the World Cup factors desk.

Hosts India too bought their marketing campaign off to a profitable begin of their opening recreation towards Australia in Chennai, triumphing over the five-time world champions by six wickets on the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

In the most recent fixture that befell on Monday, 30 October, Rahmat Shah, Hasmatullah Shahidi and Azmatullah Omarzai all scored fifties as Afghanistan defeated Sri Lanka by seven wickets in Pune. The win helped Afghanistan climb two locations to fifth, whereas Sri Lanka slipped to sixth place after the loss.

England, in the meantime, stay on the backside of the 10-team desk after struggling their fifth defeat in six outings, which has virtually dominated them out of the semi-final race if not mathematically.

Here’s an in depth take a look at the ICC World Cup 2023 factors desk (up to date as of 30 October at 10.38 pm):

Position Team Matches Won Lost Tied NR NRR Points
1 India 6 6 0 0 0 +1.405 12
2 South Africa
6 5 1 0 0 +2.032 10
3 New Zealand
6 4 2 0 0 +1.232 8
4 Australia 6 4 2 0 0 +0.970 8
5 Afghanistan 6 3 3 0 0 -0.718 6
6 Sri Lanka 6 2 4 0 0 -0.275 4
7 Pakistan 6 2 4 0 0 -0.387 4
8 Netherlands 6 2 4 0 0 -1.277 2
9 Bangladesh 6 1 5 0 0 -1.338 2
10 England 6 1 5 0 0 -1.652 2


The World Cup this 12 months shall be hosted completely in India in contrast to the earlier editions that befell within the sub-continent, by which the cricket-mad nation co-hosted together with Pakistan, Sri Lanka or Bangladesh. It is ready to run for more than a month, with the ultimate additionally going down at Narendra Modi Stadium on 19 November.

India, who lately have been topped Asian champions following a complete victory over Sri Lanka within the last, are stable favourites heading into the event.

The Men in Blue, who’re being led by a 3rd totally different captain in as many editions, haven’t gained an ICC title for the reason that 2013 Champions Trophy and their final World Cup win got here in 2011, additionally at dwelling. They will nonetheless, again themselves to finish that drought factoring of their latest kind in addition to dwelling benefit.

What ought to additional encourage the Indian group is the actual fact the every of the final three World Cups have been gained by host nations — Australia in 2015 and England in 2019, in addition to India in 2011.

The 13th version of the occasion can also be the primary for the reason that inaugural version in 1975 to not characteristic the West Indies, who completed fifth within the Super Sixes stage of the Qualifier in Zimbabwe earlier this 12 months. Sri Lanka and Netherlands completed within the prime two spots on the finish of that stage and sealed their place within the 10-team World Cup.

Source hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here