Home Sports Rohit reveals why he withdrew non-striker’s end run out appeal against Shanaka in 1st ODI

Rohit reveals why he withdrew non-striker’s end run out appeal against Shanaka in 1st ODI

0
Rohit reveals why he withdrew non-striker’s end run out appeal against Shanaka in 1st ODI

[ad_1]

Rohit Sharma got here in and withdrew the appeal after a quick dialog with Shami. This occurred even after the umpire had signaled for the TV umpire’s evaluate.


IND vs SL 1st ODI: Rohit Sharma reveals why he withdrew appeal against Dasun Shanaka’s run-out at non-striker’s end

Dasun Shanaka expresses gratitude to Rohit Sharma’s choice of withdrawing the appeal. AP

India pacer Mohammed Shami enacted a run out on the non-striker’s end as Sri Lanka Captain Dasun Shanaka took an early begin in the 50th over however his skipper Rohit Sharma intervened and withdrew the appeal to keep away from yet one more controversy in the primary ODI on Tuesday.

It occurred in the fourth ball of the ultimate over of Sri Lanka’s stiff run chase of 374 when Shanaka was two runs shy of his century. Shanaka backed up Kasun Rajitha too far and Shami ran him out from the non-striker’s end.

Talking factors: Virat Kohli’s century, Dasun Shanaka being lone wolf and extra

But Rohit got here in and withdrew the appeal after a quick dialog with Shami. This occurred even after the umpire had signaled for TV umpire’s evaluate.

Rohit defined the choice to withdraw the appeal saying, “I had no idea Shami did that (run-out) when he went for an appeal. He (Shanaka) was batting on 98. The way he batted was brilliant, you got to give it to him. We cannot get him out like that. We wanted to get him out, the way we thought we will get him out. But that was not something that we thought off, hats off to him, he played really well.”

Shanaka appreciated Rohit’s gesture on the end of the match.

Rajitha was capable of take a single and Shanaka took the strike subsequent ball and accomplished his century with a boundary. His 108* off 88 balls went in useless as Sri Lanka managed 306/eight to lose by 67 runs.

Runouts on the bowler’s end have been now not thought of ‘unfair play’ since October final 12 months after the ICC amended its rule e-book.

However, there have been important controversies across the method of dismissal since Deepti Sharma ran out Charlotte Dean in the third ODI between India and England girls on the Lord’s.

Here are a few of the reactions for Rohit Sharma’s gesture –

With PTI inputs

Read all of the Latest News, Trending News, Cricket News, Bollywood News, India News and Entertainment News right here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Find newest and upcoming tech devices on-line on Tech2 Gadgets. Get expertise information, devices evaluations & scores. Popular devices together with laptop computer, pill and cell specs, options, costs, comparability.



[ad_2]

Source hyperlink

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here