Home Sports Government Approves Participation of Indian Wrestlers for Ranking Series Zagreb Open

Government Approves Participation of Indian Wrestlers for Ranking Series Zagreb Open

Government Approves Participation of Indian Wrestlers for Ranking Series Zagreb Open


Last Updated: January 26, 2023, 11:01 IST

The Government of India has authorised the participation of the Indian wrestling Men and ladies crew consisting of 55 members within the 1st Ranking Series Zagreb Open Grand Prix (WW/GR/FS) Croatia from February 1-5 at full Cost to authorities.

The choice passed off by the oversight committee for the Wrestling Federation of India, shaped by the Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. A complete of 12 girls wrestlers, 11 Greco Roman wrestlers and 13 male freestyle wrestlers are set for competitors, the Sports Authority of Indian (SAI) stated in a press release.

Some of the important thing wrestlers who’ve been sanctioned to take part within the Ranking Series embrace Tokyo Olympians Ravi Kumar Dahiya, Bajrang Punia, Vinesh Phogat, Anshu Malik and Deepak Punia.

Government sad with wrestlers’ behaviour

The authorities is sad with the wrestlers’ behaviour and won’t reconstitute the oversight committee shaped to probe the sexual harassment costs towards WFI president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, Sports Ministry sources stated on Wednesday.

Sports Minister Anurag Thakur had on Monday introduced {that a} five-member oversight committee, headed by legendary boxer M C Mary Kom, will examine the costs towards the Wrestling Federation of India boss and in addition handle the day-to-day affairs of the sports activities physique.

Bajrang Punia, Vinesh Phogat, Sarita Mor and Sakshi Malik, who staged a sit-in protest at Jantar Mantar for three days demanding the sacking of the WFI president, expressed disappointment that they weren’t consulted earlier than the formation of the committee.

Apart from Yogeshwar, ex-badminton participant and Mission Olympic Cell member Trupti Murgunde, ex-TOPS CEO Rajagopalan and former SAI govt director – groups – Radhica Sreeman are additionally member of the committee.

Both May Kom and Yogeshwar are additionally half of the the seven-member committee shaped by the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) to probe the allegations of sexual harassment and corruption towards the WFI chief.

Besides legendary boxer Mary Kom and wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, the IOA panel contains archer Dola Banerjee and Indian Weightlifting Federation (IWLF) president and IOA treasurer Sahdev Yadav.

The different members of the IOA committee are two advocates — Talish Ray and Shlok Chandra — in addition to former shuttler and IOA joint secretary Alaknanda Ashok, who’s its vice chairperson.

(With inputs from Agencies)

Read all of the Latest Sports News right here


Source hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here