Home Politics TMC Names Five Women in First List of 52 Candidates

TMC Names Five Women in First List of 52 Candidates

TMC Names Five Women in First List of 52 Candidates


The opposition Trinamool Congress in Meghalaya gave 5 tickets to feminine candidates with an eye fixed on the monetary and political empowerment of the ladies of the northeastern state. Two of these tickets are for sitting MLAs, as was seen in the primary listing of 52 candidates launched by the get together for the upcoming meeting elections.

In matrilineal Meghalaya, ladies usually shun politics however, to this point, that is the very best quantity of ladies candidates any political get together has fielded for polls to this point. Two sitting TMC legislators – Miani Dalbot Shira (Ampati) and Dikkanchi Dalbot Shira (Mahendraganj) – featured in the primary listing. The lone feminine member of Garo Hills Autonomous District Council, Sadhiarani M Sangma shall be contesting from Gambegre constituency towards state NCP president Saleng A Sangma.

The feminine candidates, other than sitting MLAs and MDC, embrace Dr Saralin Dorphang from Mawhati and Elgiva Gwyneth Rynjah from North Shillong.

“We have the highest number of aspiring women representatives so far,” stated legislature get together chief Dr Mukul Sangma. “So far, the UDP (United Democratic Party) and PDF (People’s Democratic Front) have declared their first list of candidates but there are no women candidates in it.”

Besides the 5 feminine candidates, the listing additionally featured 9 sitting MLAs in addition to seven MDCs, and was introduced by the state president Charles Pyngrope in presence of Sangma, vice-president George B Lyngdoh amongst others.

Pyngrope stated Sangma will contest from Songsak and Tikrikilla constituencies. Earlier in the 2018 meeting polls, he had gained from two seats – Songsak and Ampati. He later resigned and was changed by his eldest daughter Miani D Shira as Ampati MLA.

The former chief minister stated his resolution to contest once more from two seats was half of the get together’s political technique and other people’s demand. “…there are multiple factors but I think the one that I can share with you is that the overall demand as well as I felt it was the necessary political strategy and that is how we look at it,” he stated.

With regard to allegations towards him contesting from two seats, the chief of opposition stated, “I am sure or unsure, both. Anybody can have their own conclusion but we have no problem with others having them. It is done with utmost due diligence by considering overall political factors, and that is how it is.”

The state president, nonetheless, refused to touch upon the chief ministerial candidate of the get together. Other sitting MLAs are George B Lyngdoh (Umroi), Charles Pyngrope (Nongthymmai), SG Esmatur Mominin (Phulbari), Zenith M Sangma (Rangsakona), Winnerson D Sangma (Salmanpara), Lazarus M Sangma (Chokpot).

Seven MDCs, who shall be contesting, embrace A Andrew Shullai (Jowai), Cherak Watre Momin (Kharkutta), Pardinand D Shira (Mendipathar), Rinaldo Ok Sangma (Resubelpara), Alphonsush R Marak (Williamnagar), Agassi R Marak (Selsella), Sadhiarani M Sangma (Gambegre).

The different candidates are Sunida Bareh (Khliehriat), Lasting Suchiang (Mokaiaw), Alban Ok Gashnga (Amlarem), Sunmoon D Marak (Jirang), Gilbert Nongrum (Umsning), Banshanlang Lawai (Mawryngkneng), Samborlang Diengdoh (Pynthorumkhrah), Iwan Maria (West Shillong), Ian A Lyngdoh Nongkynrih (South Shillong), Gilbert Guidingstar Laloo (Mylliem), Joannes Jefferson Tyler Lamphrang Lamare (Nongkrem), Stodingstar Thabah (Sohiong), Mawkordor Rynjah (Mawphlang), Vincent T Sangma (Mawsynram), Playness Khiewtam (Shella), Edmund Khongngai (Pynursla), Harold Firming Khongsit (Sohra), Dondor Marbaniang (Mawkynrew), Macmillan Kharbani (Nongstoin), Fernandez S Dkhar (Rambrai-Jyrngam), Justine G Momin (Mawshynrut), Savio Phrangsngi Dkhar (Ranikor), Sounder S Cajee (Mawkyrwat), Tengrak R Marak (Bajengdoba), Sengnam R Marak (Rongjeng), Dr Prabir D Sangma (Raksamgre), Dr Mohammed Miznur Rahamankazi (Rajabala), Rupa M Marak (Dadengre), Richard Mrong Marak (South Tura), Sengkal A Sangma (Dalu), Dr Rajesh M Marak (Rongra-Siju) and Dr Saljangringrang R Marak (Baghmara).

Read all of the Latest Politics News right here


Source hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here